This topic has been answered.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[ENCRYPTION] Bitlocker drive question

I upgraded 20.04 to 22.04 and I was pleasantly surprised to see that dolphin now recognizes a bitlocker encrypted drive and also mounts it.

I am wondering how I can do that from the command line in 22.04 LTS.

TIA.
  • Answer selected by Snowhog at Sep 03, 2022, 01:46 PM.

cryptsetup bitlkOpen /dev/sdb bitlocker
    ​Enter passphrase for /dev/sdb:<passphrase><Enter>
    ​This creates a new entry under /dev/mapper. In my case it created "bitlocker" that is a link to "../dm-3".
    mount /dev/mapper/bitlocker /media/<my mount point>

​This does the trick.

Comment

it should be the same no matter the distro, so I imagine this will work:
      https://www.linuxuprising.com/2019/0...encrypted.html
      If you want to use the same directory as Dolphin you can use the file manager to see full path to where it is mounted.

I have no experience with bitlocker so other than basics, i have no idea how this works in the real world.

Comment

Originally posted by claydoh View Post
        it should be the same no matter the distro, so I imagine this will work:
        https://www.linuxuprising.com/2019/0...encrypted.html
        If you want to use the same directory as Dolphin you can use the file manager to see full path to where it is mounted.

I have no experience with bitlocker so other than basics, i have no idea how this works in the real world.
        I don't think dislocker has anything to do with it. I feel that bitlocker file system support is added to kernel now. 22.04 uses 5.15 so it was added sometime before then. I never got dislocker to work even after following all the instructions on the github site.