Can't login following install - keyboard is not being recognized

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[LAPTOP] Can't login following install - keyboard is not being recognized

I have just installed Kubuntu 21.04 for the first time and I am new to Linux.

The install appeared to run successfully (took about 20 minutes) followed by a reboot to the login screen. I am unable to enter my password and my keyboard does not appear to be recognized (unable to key any characters into the password field, cannot use CTRL-ALT-DEL to reboot, F1 doesn't do anything). I am able to move the mouse around, but nothing on the login screen seems to be clickable. I did try to physically power down the laptop and reboot all with the same results. I don't know what to try next?

I am running on a Lenovo Thinkpad T61 notebook with 4GB RAM and 500 GB SSD. Kubuntu is the sole operating system installed and using the full hard drive.

The install options that I took were the checkboxes for a normal install, to load updates and load 3rd party software. I understand these to be the normal and recommended installation options.

On the login screen I do see my name. There is also in the bottom left corner of the screen an icon of a keyboard and the text "Virtual Keyboard Desktop Sessions Plasma (X11).

Any recommendations would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to the forums,

It seems that the bootable media did not transfer data properly. In order to remove the login issue, redo the install with no Internet.

Don't select third-party software, select the minimal install and automatic login.

Update and set the install to your needs: System settings, password, discover for Office, VLC, another browser, etc...

Comment

Originally posted by Radcliff View Post
      Welcome to the forums,

It seems that the bootable media did not transfer data properly. In order to remove the login issue, redo the install with no Internet.