This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help learning how to backup/restore

I still consider myself new to linux even though I've been using it for a couple years now. I need help coming up with a BASIC system backup and restore strategy. I would appreciate some help learning what programs/commands to use to backup/restore and what files/directories to save.

My current OS is Kubuntu 20.04. I don't have any web servers or anything like that running. I just use my computer for web browsing, some javascript development... pretty mundane stuff.

I have an external USB SSD which I can use as a backup destination.

I keep my 'voluntary' documents, pictures, etc on a separate partition on the same physical drive as my OS. I don't keep any important 'voluntary' files in my /home
    directory.

My goal is to be able to bring my system back to a point similar to a fresh OS install but with important system settings and my most used applications intact.

Things I know I want to back up:

git settings and configurations
    public/private keys for github

custom symbolic links for launching applications

wifi networks/passwords

The 'voluntary' files that I keep all on their own partition.

I have no idea what system files to save and need some extra guidance in this area.

I use, and recommend, the CLI program rsync. There are some GUI front ends for rsync, but I don't use them, I just use a text file to keep a few rsync commands handy.

I backup everything in /home, which includes the system configs that pertain to my usage of Kubuntu, created and saved data files, music, movies, etc.

There are lots of ways to use rsync. You can include and exclude specific directories. You can specify a source of files to be backed up and a target for where the files will be backed up.