This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[DESKTOP] Windows Take Over

I've been running a triple boot set up for several years. Kubuntu (updated from 18.04), Mint, and Windows 10. Most of the time the system runs smoothly with only a very few hiccups.

Yesterday, I was working in Photoshop in Windows 10. When I finished and re-booted, instead of getting the usual grub menu, the machine went straight into Windows 10.

I tried re-setting the UEFI boot sequence but it would not let me. As soon as I moved the Windows boot down the list, the UEFI BIOS froze.
    Re-setting the Boot order in WIndows 10 also failed. This time, I did not get Windows, just a black screen after the initial Post.

To cut a long story short, I booted in with a live USB (Kubuntu 20.04) and used Boot-Repair Option 2 here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

I was sceptical, but it has worked a dream, so far.

Now, I'd be grateful for advice on how to avoid the problem recurring?

Have you tried rEFInd? As a boot manager I mean.
    It's not without its glitches and peculiarities, but to me, compared to grub, it's a dream come true :-)

Comment

I have never had an issue like that. I've been running quad-boot for a long time now.
      You might check 'efibootmgr' to see any telltale signs.
      Boot Info Script

Comment

Originally posted by Don B. Cilly View Post
        Have you tried rEFInd? As a boot manager I mean.
        It's not without its glitches and peculiarities, but to me, compared to grub, it's a dream come true :-)
        I've read through some of Rod Smith's material on his website. It's a bit indigestible for an ordinary non-whizz like me. In what ways is rEFind be an improvement over grub for the ordinary user?

Comment

Originally posted by verndog View Post
          I have never had an issue like that. I've been running quad-boot for a long time now.
          You might check 'efibootmgr' to see any telltale signs.