This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dual Booting?

Because I am getting close to getting my observatory close to being operational (it's only been 17 years) I started exploring the new software that is very popular now for post processing images called Pixinsight. Imagine my surprise when they recommended Kubuntu 20.04 as the operating system.
    I currently have Photoshop and another piece of processing software running under Win 7 but I would be thrilled to set up my processing computer to dual boot so I can run both Win7 software and Linux software.
    But I've never set up a dual boot system and it worries me that I might screw up my Photoshop computer trying to do something I have never done before.

Should I be nervous?

Greg
    W9WD

A quick Google search finds https://www.tecmint.com/install-ubun...ows-dual-boot/

Look it over throughly, and if you have any questions, ask.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

OTOH since I use 20.04 for everything, and have a good computer to run it on, I suppose I could just transport the image to be processed all the way in to the house ( 90') on a thumb drive and process it on my happy Kubuntu computer.
      Greg
      W9WD

Comment

Originally posted by GregM View Post
        Should I be nervous?
        IMO... hell, no. Careful, of course. Good backups a very good idea, though it can be hard work with Windows to have a restore from scratch backup.

Win 7 sounds old, maybe that's BIOS/MBR. The Kubuntu 20.04 install media still support BIOS/MBR IIRC, but there's talk of making *buntus UEFI only.

Shrinking Win 7 might be difficult. A clean up there (deleting junk and a defrag) might help. With later Windows it's often recommended to use the Windows "disk management" to shrink the Windows partitions; I don't know if that applies to Win 7.