No keyboard, no network, no audio after installation of kubuntu 20.04

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No keyboard, no network, no audio after installation of kubuntu 20.04

I have been using Kubuntu since about 2008 I think, but now something really weird has happened.

This summer I upgraded my old installation of Kubuntu 16.04 to 20.04. No problem, everything worked perfect! I think I did it by complete reinstall rather than upgrade, but I'm not completely sure.

Anyway, last week my very old boot drive (SSD) got some error and the system wouldn't boot even after fsck. I bought a new SSD drive, and also a CPU fan since the old was starting to be noisy.

I installed the CPU fan, which required me to remove the motherboard since the connectors were of a different type of what I had before. I'm always a bit nervous when doing that kind of thing, but it seemed to work fine. I installed the drive and installed Kubuntu 20.04 from the same flash memory as I used previously during the summer.

After rebooting the system, Kubuntu started up but I got stuck at the login prompt as the keyboard did not work. After a while I managed to login using a virtual on-screen keyboard, and noticed that the network did not work, and I don't think the audio worked either as it was a disabled symbol over the speaker icon in the system tray (didn't investigate that further).

After some investigation I found out that:
    • If I connected yet another keyboard I could use that, but I couldn't get my main keyboard to work regardless of which USB port I used.
    • The keyboard and network worked fine during the install, and they also worked if I selected "Try Kubuntu" instead if install. I also tried booting another live CD (Slax) and that also worked fine.

I tried to change various things in the BIOS just in case. I have tried all combinations of UEFI/Legacy and Secure boot Enabled/Disabled, but it is always the exact same problem.