This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[LAPTOP] After removing media press Enter

Hi I'm new to Kubuntu. I got to the end of installing I removed the usb drive and pressed Enter. Nothing is happening after more than 3 hours. Just a prt lit screen.
    Should I power off and restart? Please help

You are safe to power off. The install completed before the reboot, so nothing should be damaged, if the desktop shut down, and you got to the 'hit enter' prompt.

Comment

Welcome to both Kubuntu and Kubuntu Forums, Gasman!

As @claydoh said, you should be fine powering it off and on. The wait time after it says to press [enter] until it reboots, in my experience, is like 2-3 SECONDS, not hours! So I think something got hung up somewhere... But if you boot it up and everything looks okay, then just chalk it up to it being a little hiccup.
      Xenix/UNIX user since 1985 | Linux user since 1991 | Was registered Linux user #163544

Comment

I've had that situation, too. Just shut it down, count to 10, and power it back up. Everything should be there. If you see something that doesn't look right, come on back, we can help you figure it out.

The "count to 10" is fairly important, most of the time. It gives the electrical systems time to actually lose energy. The 10 count may be longer than most modern systems actually require, but it doesn't hurt, either.
        The next brick house on the left
        Intel i7 11th Gen | 16GB | 1TB | KDE Plasma 5.24.7 | Kubuntu 22.04.4 | 6.5.0-18-generic

Comment

Hi Thanks for the help. I powered off but now it won't boot up with message " System bootorder not found .initializing defaults." The laptop is a 2012 macbook pro. I installed on the entire disk because I no longer wanted OSX. I've been looking online but it's a bit confusing as most of the answers seem to be for PC not Mac. Help much appreciated thanks

Comment

Macs have bootloader and other differences from PC stuff, so some extra steps may be needed.