X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Help With Wireless connection!

Hi guys!

I'm extremely new to linux. I downloaded Kubuntu 9.10 in my laptop (Sony VPCF111FD) and there are a few things that I can't get to work. First, my wireless card is not working. I don't know how to tell kubuntu to detect my wireless and make it work . I am very very new to linux and I have no idea how i can fix this problem. But I really want to try to learn how to work on linux .

My second problem is the sound. I tried playing a song but I couldn't hear anything. . Please somebody help me!

Re: Need Help With Wireless connection!

First off. Welcome to the party

For basic problems I would suggest reading dibles thread here:
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3099811.0

As for specific questions (wireless, etc) I would suggest posting a thread with a different title.

Something like:
    cannot connect wireless (card version and type) on Karmic.

Specific titles will attract people with experience in that domain.

While we are at it try and post the specs to your machine.
    CPU, video-, audio-, network cards, RAM, etc.

I hope this gets you rolling and enjoy
    HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

Hey guys!

I am really new to linux and I know nothing about the terminal commands and other stuff like that . I installed Kubuntu 9.10 and I realized that linux is not detecting my wireless card. I have a Sony VPCF111FD and my wireless card is an Atheros AR9287. I believe that linux supports Atheros better than others, but I just can't get mine to work. Please help me.

Thanks in advance

Comment

Is your Sony a 32- or 64-bit CPU? And if the latter, did you install the 64-bit version of Kubuntu?
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment