Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer Aspire wireless keep losing connection, then wont re-connect...[SOLVED]

Hi All....Im new to Kubuntu and have been searching for an answer for some time (days) so I dont post something thats been posted before...couldn't find a solution that works...

My problem is wireless works perfectly on startup, but after a while it drops off, and then I get a box coming up entitled "Secrets For 'my ssid'" and requesting my WPA Personal password, which I enter, and nothing happens. Under network connections it shows as 'activating', but never connects again, unless I re-boot. Then the cycle re-peats.

Im using Kubuntu KNetworkManager, and have found its good. If there is no "cure" as such, Is there a way to manually re-start the network etc to save me re-booting?

Any help/advice appreciated.

Kevbb.
    Got rid of Windows, and the horrible Vista...all this is scary and new...be kind.

Re: Acer Aspire wireless keep losing connection, then wont re-connect...

Hi

At the risk of understatement, the default network manager gives rise to mixed emotions.

You may have a better experience with wicd, which is in the repositories so use your package manager.

Be aware that installing wicd will uninstall the default manager. Once installed you can either reboot or instead hit alt+F2 to launch krunner and then simply type wicd in the box. you will see an icon appear for below for the wicd manager. Select it.

You should see a list of available connections. Click on the name of the one you want and you will then be able to configure the security settings.

Hope this helps

ian

Comment

Thanks for your reply...very much appreciated. I Am keen to learn.
      Im a bit scared to change anything in case it doesn't work, but I would like to give Wicd a try.