X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unable to install

Hello, I'm new to Linux and Kubuntu.
    I have tried installing Kubuntu 4 times, all failed.
    I tried both the Standard (32-bit x86 computers) and the 64-bit AMD versions. I tried it from a CD-RW and from a DVD-RW (respective download packages).
    The initial menu loads and I get to choose from various options - so I choose "Install Kubuntu". The screen goes black with a white blinking cursor and that's it... Stays like this for 3-4-5 minutes, eventually the DVD-drive stops rotating the DVD/CD as nothing happens. I then have to use the Reset button.

Interestingly, I get -- I am guessing -- the same thing when trying to install Windows 7 - "machine_check_exception" on a blue screen. I am currently running XP and want to have a dual boot system.

It's likely that there's something wrong with my system. Here are specs:
    - EPOX 9npa ultra at socket 939
    - AMD Dual Core 4200+ at 2.21 GHz
    - 3 GB RAM at DDR2
    - ATI Radeon HD 4600 video, 1 GB
    - I've got three hard disks SATA mode

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Unable to install

I tried it from a CD-RW and from a DVD-RW ...
    "Top 20 Kubuntu FAQs & Answers" - http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3099811.0

FAQ #1
    don't even try it with a CD-RW -- they don't work
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

I see. I checked the hash of kubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso - there is a match. However, the UbuntuHashes page does not contain a hash for kubuntu-9.10-dvd-i386.iso, which is the version I last attempted to install - so how can I verify?

WinMD5Sum tells me the hash for the DVD is: 7410516a6f1ab1f0ece96853abf9ec2e. Please let me know where to find the hash for this download version (I already tried Googling for it).