This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[solved]Wireless on Toshiba M800-104

After having (finally) solved my wired problem with this Laptop with JJ 64bit I am now faced with getting the wireless working.

I have never worked with wireless before and don't have a wlan point at home but would like to use my laptop on the road.

This is my Hardware:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ lspci

07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8040T PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 12)
    08:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless WiFi Link 5100
    I have wicd installed and it sees the different wireless points unsecured and secured.

I try connecting but it doesn't connect.

In wicd-> preferences -> drivers for wpa-suplicant it is set to: wext
    and wireless network adapter is wlan0

Can anyone give me some advice on how to get this running?

HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Re: Wireless on Toshiba M800-104

mmm, most likely on the road you'll _only_ use open AP's, do you really need to worry about this? I would take the lappy to a cafe with wifi and test it there, to make sure it'll be fine.

Comment

are you trying to connect to an open access point, or encrypted. If encrypted, what type of encryption? If it sees the access points, chances are you are good to go, it's just a matter of getting the right settings.

mm0
      Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

Thank you both, I have a list of over 10 access points in my neighborhood (open and closed) that are "seen" by wicd just doesn't want to connect to either.

If it sees the access points, chances are you are good to go, it's just a matter of getting the right settings.
        It sees all but wicd does not connect to the open ones. Something is missing,.

Cheers