This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kubuntu booted fine, now only boots grub

hello everyone! im fairly new to linux, installed kubuntu about 8 months ago, dual booted with windowz xp and everything worked fine for a long time! then one day when i turned on my laptop and it asked me to select xp or kubuntu i did as always, went with kubuntu...and instead grub booted! it has never happend before, ive never had to even deal with grub

im having a lot of issues trying to boot the kernel, gone through a ton of forums for kubuntu and mainly for grub and everything and im just not having the greatest of times.

if anyone is willing to help just tell me what commands to pump out in grub and ill post what happens!

need my laptop back so..much appreciated!!!
    linux ftw!

Re: kubuntu booted fine, now only boots grub

If it were me, first thing I'd try is to re-install GRUB:

How To GRUB Methods - Toolkit
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3081671.0
    SECTION 3: Re-installing GRUB: the cure for many problems.

Or, you might try Super Grub Disk live CD and see if it can fix/repair Linux boot. SGD will get you booted into your Kubuntu, for sure, where you could re-install GRUB; or you can re-install GRUB from the Kubuntu live CD. (All in the how-to.)
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

a kubuntu live cd just isnt working for me...it locks up.

so i did end up getting the super grub disk and the instructions were very shaky on the SGD website...a ton of the commands wouldnt even work

when i use the SGD:

sh:grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
      error: unknown command 'find'

yeah i dont get it either

but just letting my computer normally try to boot into kubuntu and let it hit the grub menu i get

grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
      Error 15: File not found

grub> find /boot/grub/stage 2

ect. ect.

for
      grub>geometry (hd0)