X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cursor and Window issues and Sudo problem

Greetings all.

I'm having some really annoying problems that I've tried to search for resolutions on but either find threads with no final resolution, steps that I do not see (like saying KMenu > This >That > Another, but This and That don't exist on my menu) or just no response at all.

I'm not exactly new to Linux but not a regular user or power user of Linux (although I've been doing Computer and Network support for 14 years on Windows and Novell systems and Cisco devices, I'd like to think I have the skills to figure some of this stuff out myself if they were easy enough fixes.).

I installed 8.10 and struggled for months trying to get VNC connections to the machine while it sits at the Login screen (like I can on Windows using a Remote Control package). No "guide" I found ever worked for me. The idea was that we don't let our teenagers on the computer without our knowledge, so we have to log them on.

So I finally decided to just let them login but I would control Internet access via my router.

I saw that KDE 4.2 was available so I added it. Now I have some odd problems.

The first is when I am logged in as my account which is a SuperUser, my windows have no title bars. I can fix them temporarily, but the next time I log in they are gone again. I need a more permanent fix for this. The odd thing is that when I log in my son's non-su account, his windows have title bars. So it doesn't seem to be a global configuration problem, but a user configuration problem.

Now here's the other odd problem. In my account my animated cursors look fine. No problems at all. Yet in my son's account, when you are on the desktop or some menus, the cursor turns into a square that looks like a scrambled screen. Again, this is only a problem on one account and not the other.