This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kde 4.1.3... then 4.1.4.. and 4.1.5?.

I am new to kubuntu and I was wondering when these updates for kde come out do they get auto updated in kubuntu or do you have to choose to upgrade or backport. How does it work?

Re: kde 4.1.3... then 4.1.4.. and 4.1.5?.

KDE 4.2 will probably appear in the repositories and you'll be given the option to upgrade when it's released in January.

I don't know the roadmap for KDE off-hand, but 4.3, for example, isn't likely to come out before the next version of Ubuntu in six months time - 9.04, Jaunty Jackalope. That means you probably won't see it in the 8.10 repositories, but if you're interested in the most up-to-date software, you'll be upgrading to 9.04 anyway.

Comment

I didnt say kde 4.3.0.........I said kde 4.1.3

Comment

It is released today

http://www.kde.org/announcements/announce-4.1.3.php

Comment

Originally posted by wrender
          I am new to kubuntu and I was wondering when these updates for kde come out do they get auto updated in kubuntu or do you have to choose to upgrade or backport. How does it work?
          If you enable the up-dates, they will happen automatically.

With Adept, click on the Sources icon, select <Edit Software Sources>, on the Updates tab enable Proposed Updates, and if you're happy with it, also Unsupported Updates - which i don't do, to be honest, as breakages have been known to occur.

Then click <Close> then <Fetch current package lists>. You only have to do that once, next time you fetch the lists, it will fetch them all.

Edit:
          This will keep your installation up-to-date.
          When Jaunty is released, you will be prompted, that up-grade isn't automatic.

Comment

The 0.0.1 updates occur monthly until the next 0.1 version comes out.
            In other words, later this month we'll get 4.1.4. I believe in January we're due to receive 4.2.0.

Comment