This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kppp, Dialup, Broadband, Kubuntu problems

After many days, spread out over many months I got resolved my KPPP dialup and ethenet fault on my Kubuntu 8.10 box. Since I had so much difficulty finding the solution ANYWHERE, I offer my solution consolidated in one place. I am not an expert, I am only posting my solution for review and comments.

This long post is intended to help any other Kubuntu newbies that may be trying to solve a problem similar to mine. Some of my solution below is unique, I discovered, to Kubuntu, and not to PPP and KPPP in general across all Linux distributions.

The Problem:
    Normally, I connect to a home-network Ethernet switch for broadband access and to a Windows XP box for SAMBA file sharing reasons. At times I need to access a Dial-Up Internet connection when no Ethernet broadband connection is available. And I want to just Do It. I do not fuss around with Network Manager and DNS, Gateway, Domain etc. This was quite a challenge as Earthlink Tech Support (read: we be 'Fault-Isolation-Script-Readers' only,) were very emphatic that Earthlink Support does not, nor will not, support Linux in any flavor; only Windows and MAC. And sometimes not even MAC.

Step One
    My first challenge was to actually get to the real cause of the symptoms. I would dial up the ISP (Earthlink) and get an almost immediate disconnect with an PPPD exit error code of 1. Since I am still a newbie at Linux (and Kubuntu in particular), this is where I spent a lot of time.

From SysLog (/var/log/syslog) fault one was mostly painless. My Syslog kept telling me I was trying to authenticate the IPS login server. I had to search every file in /ect/ppp including all sub-directories to search out each and every instance of PPP command AUTH, and comment that out and insert line with a NOAUTH command. There are many. The way it should work, I authenticate to my ISP, not the other way around.

Second Fault