This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Solved] Distorted screen Kubuntu Intrepid

I am new to Kubuntu and Linux. I have decided to give it a try. Let me warn everyone that I do not seem to be as computer savvy as most of you. I have purchased a Kubuntu Intrepid CD and am in the process of installing it. I am getting a distorted screen after booting from the CD drive. The kubuntu label appears on the screen with the progress bar underneath. just as it is finish filling the bar and I think The OS will have the desktop appear, the screen goes purple from the bottom to about 3/4 the way up the screen. the rest of the screen is a dark blue, almost black with vertical dotted lines. I am running this Kubuntu CD on a HP mediacenter pc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    System<br />HP Pavilion 061 with dual boot,&nbsp; Kubuntu Lucid 10.04 &amp; Windows XP Professional SP3<br />model#: PU061AV<br />X-86 based PC<br />AMD Athlon 64 processor 3200+1.79GHz<br />2 GB of RAM<br />Video:NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 (dedicated)<br />hard drive: Maxtor 6Y080M0, 60GB

Re: Distorted screen Kubuntu Intrepid

Could you please give us more details about the pc as to what hardware it comes with? Maybe brand/model number would go a long way in helping you out. Things needed would be:

1. Processor Type
    2. Video card (dedicated or onboard)
    3. Memory
    4. Hard drive

That should aid a long way.
    Challenges are what that keeps us from the borderline of boredom in life's journey. Linux user #419401

Comment

HP Pavilion 061 Windows XP Professional SP3 & (hopefully Kubuntu)
      model#: PU061AV
      X-86 based PC
      AMD Athlon 64 processor 3200+1.79GHz
      1.25 GB of RAM
      Video:NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 (dedicated)
      hard drive: Maxtor 6Y080M0, 60GB

hope this will help you help me!