X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boots into a terminal-type thing...

I'm a noob at Kubuntu, just saying.

I believe I tried to install new Nvidia drivers, but screwed up somewhere. :P Whenever I boot up Kubuntu, it goes to the loading bar, and then right after than it brings me to a terminal-like thing that asks me to log in, then you can do anything you can do with the terminal. It's obviously something to do with the drivers, but I've searched the forums and everything I've tried hasn't worked. Help?

When I try "startx" it says "Fatal server error:
    No screens found".

Re: Boots into a terminal-type thing...

Originally posted by CHUNKYBOWSER

When I try "startx" it says "Fatal server error:
    Your belief is misplaced -- you did not in fact install a video driver. Assuming you have an Nvidia graphics chip, try it like this:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...2816#msg152816

then, if you happen to boot to the text prompt, you can log in and enter "startx" and it will start the X server.

Comment

When I type "sudo envyng -t" it says

/user/bin/envyng: line 6: cd: /user/share/envy: No such file or directory
      python: can't open file 'interface.py' : [Errno 2] No such file or directory

;_;

Comment

Hmmmmmmmmm.

And you installed the envyng-core package?

Comment

Originally posted by dibl
          Hmmmmmmmmm.

And you installed the envyng-core package?
          Yep, it says it's already the newest version.

Comment

Is your hardware 32-bit or 64-bit? And did you install the 32-bit or 64-bit Kubuntu 8.10? Is it the generic kernel (you can enter uname -a in the console and it will tell the kernel)?