X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 8.10 64-bit running slow on my new laptop

Hi, i'm new to linux.

Just installed 32-bit kubuntu 8.04 on my pc (p4 2.8GHz, 512MB ram, 128MB geforce 5200, some old hard drive 80GB). And it works very well. Tough i havent installed nvida drivers for it.

But then i also wanted to put kubuntu to my new laptop (2.5 GHz dual core 2 intel 45nm technologie, 4GB ram, Nvidia Geforce 9600GT 512MB, 320GB hard drive).

After i had installed Kubuntu 8.10 64-bit to my laptop i noticed that it was running a lot slower than the kubuntu on my old pc. I mean the menus and windows opened after some delay compared to my old pc. And if i would select some text in browser and then klick to the side of the selected text, there would be a delay before text gets unselected. Changing processor behaviour from dynamic to performance didnt make any difference.

Then i installed also Kubuntu 8.04 32-bit to my laptop. It is running better than the 8.10 64-bit, but i still feel my old pc is working faster.

What could be the problem and how to solve this?
    Might i have some drivers missing? Because i only installed graphics driver with envyng to my laptop manually. Do i need to install intel 45nm chipset driver? Or some more drivers to get my 64-bit kubuntu running better?

I have been spending many evenings on trying to figure out how to get kubuntu running on my laptop well, but i could use some help. I would appreciate if anybody could point out some good general-purpose tutorials about installing drivers to kubuntu - i mean like a list of drivers what i need (some utility maybe to check if i have everything working, like in windows device manager that shows all devices and the ones that dont have proper driver have a question mark).

With kubuntu 8.04 i have yet now found how to install wifi driver, the 8.10 installed it automatically.

Re: Kubuntu 8.10 64-bit running slow on my new laptop

So many views, but unfortunately no replies.