X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installing Eudora 8

Hi All

I am very new to Kubuntu and forums, and am trying to replace XP totally.

After using Eudora for so many years I have now found Eudora 8 for linux and have downloaded it but have no idea how to install it and the adept installer does not see it.

Can anyone please help?

Using Kubuntu 8.04 KDE 3.5.9

Thanks

?
    0%
    ?
    0%

Re: Installing Eudora 8

It is best, especially for someone new, to try to use packages that are in the repositories. That way they are automatically installed and will receive any necessary updates. Also, any questions you have about using the program are much more likely to elicit useful responses here on the forum. Both Kmail, and Thunderbird are very good email programs and I would suggest you give them a try. I use Thunderbird, and having used Eudora back in my Windows life, I think you will be very comfortable with the switch.

Comment

Thanks for the reply - I have tried Thunderbird and a few others but Eudora is the only one I have been able to set up just the way I like it and have gone back to it a number of times over the years.

Just my quirky nature.

Comment

OK, where did you download the file from? What is the name of the file you downloaded? Did the site you downloaded from have any installation instructions?

And you might want to check this out.

"Penelope is the open source version of Eudora. This extension adds changes to the Thunderbird UI to provide a familiar UI for Eudora users. Many of the Eudora shortcuts are also supported including functionality not offered in Thunderbird."

This is an extension for Thunderbird that makes it act like Eudora.

Comment

If you mean this: Mozilla wiki: Eudora 8
          Eudora 8 is an email client that combines Mozilla's Thunderbird with code, features, and GUI elements from Qualcomm's Eudora.