This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samba sharing ALMOST working

I've been sharing files using smb4k for several years now. It works fine, but since I'm home sick with a cold I thought I'd try to get file sharing working using the network area of Doplhin. I set my file server up as a WINS server and pointed the other Linux machines to it. I modified the nsswitch.conf file to add WINS. Now I can see all the shares without using smb4k. I can copy, paste and rename files. BUT...if I try to open an OpenOffice or PDF file it will not open (haven't tried any others). So it seems like I've got access except through applications.

I've tried both user and share security settings, and both Kubuntu 8.04 and LinuxMint5 machines with KDE3.5 work the same. Any ideas?

Oh - and I can open the files on Windows machines.

Re: Samba sharing ALMOST working

not sure about PDF's, but I know for a fact that open office files won't mount off of a shared drive...

mm0
    Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

Maybe that's it and I just got "lucky" trying a OO doc as my test. JPG and MP3 seem to work OK. I can open the same OO docs using smb4k though.

Comment

when you use samba4k, are you mounting the drive to a local folder? that is the only way I have gotten it to work in the past...but using dolphin doesn't work...

mm0
        Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment