X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mounting cifs share from /etc/fstab on boot

I have a Samba share listed in /etc/fstab as follows:
    Code:
    hpmediavault:FileShare /mediavault cifs user,users,atime,auto,rw,nodev,pass='' 0 0
    . It doesn't get mounted on bootup, but I'm able to mount it later on with the obvious mount /mediavault. What can I do to get it mounted automatically on bootup?

Re: Mounting cifs share from /etc/fstab on boot

try adding "_netdev" option

from man mount:
    _netdev
    The filesystem resides on a device that requires network access (used to prevent the system from attempting to mount these filesystems until the network has been enabled on the system).

Comment

I am amazed it mounts at all. The hpmediavault:FileShare is not like any notation I have seen, which may just mean my smb knowledge is dated.

I think that with options user and users it will not get mounted at boot as the user is unknown. If your purpose is to allow a user to read and write to it you should mount it on a mount point owned by that user and us the uid= gid= options.

Comment

Modified fstab but still no success

Using the advice from this thread, I changed the fstab line to:
        Code:
        hpmediavault:FileShare /mediavault cifs defaults,guest,_netdev 0 0
        But I still don't get /mediavault mounted on bootup.

I tried putting user back in and got this:
        Code:
        pwa@Lepiota:~$ mount /mediavault
        mount error: permission denied or not superuser and mount.cifs not installed SUID
        pwa@Lepiota:~$ ls -l $(which mount.cifs)
        -rwsr-sr-x 1 root root 23340 2008-10-10 12:56 /sbin/mount.cifs
        p

Comment

Mixing advise from 2 sources is not likely to work and it didn't.
          Quoting from man mount.cifs
          The mount.cifs utility attaches the UNC name (exported network resource) specified as service (using //server/share syntax, where "server" is the server