This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't figure out Wine

I'm brand new to Kubuntu (installed Friday). I'm trying to figure things out and have come a long way but am having some issues with Wine. (Unfortunately, there are a couple of Windows progs I can't live without.) I installed Wine with the Adept Installer and I can open the program. From here, I'm lost. I've searched both here and the internet in general and can't seem to find a decent tutorial. I've tried to install two programs so far. Both met with failure. The first is a game where I saved the installation program (.exe files) to a separate HDD. I attempted to install that (through Wine?). Now, when I try to run the program, Kubuntu crashes. The second program was The Weather Channel Desktop. I attempted to install it both from the TWC website and by d/ling it and trying to install it that way. The installation hits a roadblock at the EULA and freezes.

I'm sure I just haven't set up Wine correctly, but I really have no idea where to go. I'm not a programmer/coder by any means. I only wanted to try Linux seeking a more stable OS. (That and all the cool kids are doing it. ) The simplest directions I could find were at kubuntu101.blogspot.com. Either I'm not following those simple directions, I'm missing something, or something is corrupted.

Re: Can't figure out Wine

I don't know about a weather desktop widget-like app, but for "normal" Windows apps, you need to run the installer from konsole, using:

Code:
    wine installer.exe
    (replace installer.exe with whatever app you have).

Note, you need to be in the directory that you downloaded the app to... I find the absolutely easiest way to accomplish that is to use Dolphin... navigate to where the file is and then View -> Panels -> Terminal... from there just run that wine command and your app should install.