This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bad edit of xorg.conf recovery

I am new to 8.04 Hardy and Kubuntu been using it about a year. I really like it and have a lot of software loaded. I came in this morning and at startup my monitor resolution was very large. I could not increase the resolution through the settings monitor desktop menu. I found a message about editing the xorg.conf file which I tried, rebooted and now I have a black screen. How do I boot into a console or bare bones os to try to restore the original xorg.conf file?

Thanks in advance

James

Re: bad edit of xorg.conf recovery

Do you have a (recovery mode) boot entry in your Grub menu when you boot? If you do, select it. That gets you to a command line 'as root.' If you don't, then when you see the Grub menu, press 'e' to edit. Select the kernel line and arrow to the end and then backspace to erase the items after ro and then type single so that the end of the kernel line you have so single

Tthis is what mine looks like:
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28-16-generic root=UUID=8c01fe0c-a60f-4921-94d6-cabbfff0a699 ro single
    Then press 'b' to boot. You will end up at the command line 'as root.'
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Right. There is also an option to "repair graphics" usually in the Rescue Mode. That might work.

Comment

Thank you both Imilano & Snowhog very much for the input.

I did not have a recovery mode already in the Grub.

Pressed esc. key at boot up and went to the newest kernal Recovery mode.
        first loaded any new dpkg, rebooted and then went in to x file server recover and rebooted into a kubuntu o.s.

Couldn't have done it without your input, thanks so much thought I had lost everything.

James

Comment

Glad we could help.