This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

login screen reappears

i have been using this kubuntu (say, kubuntu 1) for over three months. everything was ok. i have another 64-bit kubuntu (say kubuntu 2 and it was installed the most recently i.e. the grub is from this installation) also on the same hard disk and a windows installation xp. this setup has been running fairly for a long time.

today i moved some folders from desktop to usr/local/src while using kubuntu1. Everything seemed to work fine. And then I started windows, made some changes in power options and user settings and then I didn't shutdown windows but put the power off directly because it hanged while i tried to put it to standby.

Now i started booted computer and started kubuntu 1. When I try to login the password is accepted but the login screen reappears with the password text box cleared. It doesn't show any such message like 'login failed'. I did console login and I am able to.
    Then I rebooted started the kubuntu1 in recovery mode, there again console login is allowed. I started kdm login screen came but then the same problem - password accepted but the login window reappears.
    I next started kubuntu2 it is working fine and windows too. i accessed the partition of kubuntu1 from kubuntu2, everything seemed ok.

Then what must have gone wrong. Please figure out and let me know
    I think the history above is complete enough.

Re: login screen reappears

...then I didn't shutdown windows but put the power off directly...
    Maybe your KDE setting files are damaged. Something to try (making new clean KDE settings). > Topic: Kubuntu Desktop Issue

Any help ?
    Before you edit, BACKUP !

Why there are dead links ?
    1. Thread: Please explain how to access old kubuntu forum posts
    2. Thread: Lost Information

Comment

I tried what has been told but the same problem occurs.
      I did console login, I was in my home folder i.e. home/<username>
      and then: