This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

java mysteries

I'm very new to Linux and Gutsy, coming from WinXP. I'm trying to install Netbeans, to get the Ruby IDE. I installed Sun Java 6 via the KMenu's Add/Remove Programs. I installed Netbeans 5.5 from the Adept package manager. It promptly disappeared. No indication of it on the KMenu. I don't understand this behavior. Where in the world do I go looking for it?

Giving up on that, I downloaded Netbeans 6.0 from Sun, and tried to install THAT. It couldn't find the java JDK, whatever that is (I assume its the virtual machine). Well, I can't either. If Sun's own program can't find it, how it is I'm supposed to know where it is?

I've spent 14 straight hours today trying to recover two key programs which mysteriously stopped working earlier today - jEdit and Aptana Studio. They too are java programs. A bad day for java, it appears. I'm pursuing the jEdit and Aptana problems separately elsewhere. Can anyone suggest how to get Netbeans running - either one, but preferably 6.0...

Re: java mysteries

It's version 5.5 but ....

Install Netbeans 5.5 in Kubuntu It has pictures of the process as well.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Well, guardian angel Paul, I have a success to report. Reading into that loooong document to which you referred me, I noted that it was installing the older Netbeans - it's 6, not 5.5, which has the Ruby support I'm after. (I was hoping to be able to upgrade from within 5.5, if I could just get it installed). THEN I saw that it first installed the java JDK. THAT was what Netbeans 6 couldn't find - and I suddenly thought that perhaps Adept hadn't installed it (!). So, I did the first part of the install in the article - leaving off Netbeans 5.5.