X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Blank screen when installing Live CD - using ASUS laptop, nvidia 8600m GT

Hi everyone,

(I'm new to linux)

I am trying to install Kubuntu 7.10 on my laptop and when I run the LiveCD I just get a blank screen. I tried every single option to change the screen resolution when asked at the first menu (by hitting F4) and same results.

I even tried the safe mode and with the same results. eventually I installed it using the command line, however, when I boot I get the blank screen again. the only access is when I boot in recovery (text) mode. That's as far as I got to have access to the system.

and by the way, when I try a "sudo aptitude update" it says the address can not be resolved. so I think that my network card is down as well. but I have no clue how to even check that or how to bring it up online.

What should I do to get my install working?? PLEASE HELP !!

system:
    Asus G2S laptop - Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4. 17" screen.
    nvidia geforce 8600M GT 256MB
    max screen resolution: 1920 x 1200

Thank you !

-m

Re: Blank screen when installing Live CD - using ASUS laptop, nvidia 8600m GT

Boot into Safe Mode. At the prompt, type:
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    Choose VESA as your video driver. This will get you a functional (640x480) desktop. Not ideal, but working. As you have an nVidia card, you will most likely want to run the envy script installer to get and install the proper driver for you card. Of course, before you do that, you do need to ensure that you have a working Internet connection.

Welcome to the Kubuntu Forums!
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

hi...thank you for the info.

I managed to load the vesa display and eventually the network was enabled as well.