X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

allow more partitions

Keep in mind im completely new to linux

but when installing i noticed that you can only have 4 partions, 1 of which was my windows partition i had to leave alone. other than that I have 3 other partitions for /, swap, and /boot

in a linux book i have it recommends having seperate partitions for /, /boot, swap, /var, /home, and /usr; 6 total, and then you would have another for your windows partition

also there doesn't seem to be drivers for my samsung 19 inch syncmaster 930b monitor, which may be why i can't use the fglrx drivers for my 9600XT video card (P.S, if anyone has any solutions for that send me a message, thanks )

Re: allow more partitions

Originally posted by BriGy86
    but when installing i noticed that you can only have 4 partions, 1 of which was my windows partition i had to leave alone. other than that I have 3 other partitions for /, swap, and /boot

in a linux book i have it recommends having seperate partitions for /, /boot, swap, /var, /home, and /usr; 6 total, and then you would have another for your windows partition
    You can only have four primary partitions on one hard drive, but you can create extended partitions (they count as primary partitions) that can hold several logical partitions, similar to this:

1. Primary Partition 1
    2. Extended (Primary) Partition 2
         2a. Logical Partition 1
         2b. Logical Partition 2
    3. Primary Partition 3
    etc...

That said, in normal desktop use creating an advanced partition scheme can cause more problems than benefits, especially if you are not sure why you need them or how much space you'll need for different partitions. (On a server a more advanced scheme may be a good idea, but generally I recommend a simpler scheme for desktops...depending on your needs of course :P)