This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Suggestions

First, let me explain where I'm coming from. I'm a 50 year old engineer. The first computer I programmed used paddle switches and lights to program. I've evolved through, PDP 11s, Dec 20s, CPM, DOS, Windows 1.0 through XP and five or so flavors of Linux/Unix. Like many of you I spend some time fixing other peoples computer problems and advising them. So, my suggestions are not just for/from me but also for/from grandma and grandpa.

1. Provide a simple automatic “reconfigure” option if booting up brings you a console instead of the Kubuntu gui.

2. Lend some resources to Wine. There are a few “must have” killer programs that many people can't do without. One is Quicken. (And people don't want to switch to another linux equivalent. ) Some are unique to none computer hardware like the firmware update programs for MP3 players, cameras, GPSs. This is the only reason I still duel boot my laptop. Wine needs to work better.

3. Provide a place I where can pay for my Codecs. A lot of people would switch if they knew they were legally play their movies and MP3s.

4. This one is going to confuse you. Provide a pay for verified and validated version of Kubuntu. Corporations (and some people) consider anything free (or cheap) as dangerous. I think it comes from the fear of blowing an expensive project because you didn't pick the best (most expensive) option.

5. Fix the bugs,

Re: My Suggestions

1) is sort of in the works (bulletproof X), already at least partially supported in Ubuntu. KDE's login manager does not yet support this

2)I can't really touch that one too much, as imo (as a sometimes user of wine) it is already gotten lots of support, and there are commercial apps like codeweavers that support the more complicated windows software like quicken. What makes wine work for one thing breaks another. Apps like Quicken require IE, which is terribly difficult to get running.