X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to linux networking

Hi All,

I have some networking knowledge however I've never had to set up a network in linux before. Basically I have four workstations, each with their own hostname and static IP.

WS1 has IP 192.168.100.136 and is running Kubuntu Fiesty with a hostname of raven4600
    WS2 has IP 192.168.100.137 and is running Kubuntu Edgy with a hostname of tiger2800
    WS3 has IP 192.168.100.138 and is running CentOS with a host name of centos1
    WS4 has IP 192.168.100.139 and is running CentOS with a host name of centos2

DNS and Gateway settings have been set up correctly. I can ping each WS IP successfully however when I try to connect to them using a command such as finger, the connection is refused. Commands such as w, who only see the user on the local WS. IE all computers are running, I run who on WS1 and only the user on WS1 is recognised as being logged in to the network, none of the users on the other WSs are. If I try a command such as

finger <user>@192.168.100.136 I get a connection refused error. If I change the command to finger <user>@raven4600 I get a host unknown error.

Basically I want to set things up so that each system can talk to eachother, share files, and run network commands. Any help would be warmly appreciated.

Oh yes I disabled the software firewall for all WSs except for WS3 just to see if the firewalls were causing the problems. No such luck. I have a hardware router firewall which is still running, but I haven't played with it yet.

Regards

Raven

Edit:

I've created test accounts for use on the systems but still can't get things to work.

Re: New to linux networking

Being merely a beginner in terms of networking (attempting to set up my first own internet server at present) I have to guess - but there is one pitfall I've already met with, so to speak: