This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reboot with Windows

I have a dual boot system with WinXP. I don't use Windows often, so I have Kubuntu set as the default in grub with a very short timeout.

On the occasions when I do use Windows, I have to wait for the exact moment to hit the escape key and choose windows instead.

It would be very convenient if the K shutdown menu simply had an option to "reboot in windows mode", where the grub configuration was overridden on a one time basis, so you didn't have to sit there and babysit the computer while it shuts down and starts back up.

Is there a way to do this?

Re: Reboot with Windows

I'm not a programmer (at least not for Linux), but I wouldn't think it would be that hard to create a script that would edit the menu.lst file and reboot the computer with windows being default, and a 2nd script that you run everytime linux boots that sets Linux back to the default.
    mm0
    Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

Originally posted by muzicman0
      I'm not a programmer (at least not for Linux), but I wouldn't think it would be that hard to create a script that would edit the menu.lst file and reboot the computer with windows being default, and a 2nd script that you run everytime linux boots that sets Linux back to the default.
      mm0
      That looks like a workable approach ... the downside being, of course, that instead of fiddling around to boot Windows as presently configured, you'll have to fiddle around to boot Linux (after a Windows session). :P

Comment

very true, I'm sure I could come up with some amazingly elegant solution, but since I can't actually implement it, I think I'll leave it up to someone who could actually make it work
        mm0