This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for Critic of my Feisty Fawn Install Game Plan

I'm relatively new to the Linux world having used Kubuntu Edgy Eft for approx 5 months now in a dual boot configuration with Windows 2000. I've decided to take the plunge and expunge Windows 2000 off my hard drive completely and just run Kubuntu Feisty Fawn. I am developing a game plan for the move and wanted to present it here so that all the those with much more experience than I can troubleshoot it and let me know what I've forgotten or potential pitfalls. First my system:

System:
    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    A7 motherboard
    ATI Radeon 9559
    40 Gb hard-drive
    4 Gb secondary drive
    512 MB PC133 ram
    Soundblaster Audigy LS
    Acer AL1916 19” LCD monitor

So here's my plan:

1.Make current list of all programs I've installed and been using since my Edgy Eft initial install (such as Tux Cards, Tellico, GQview, Kopete Desklist, Guarddog, etc)

2.Back up my entire personal folder (including hidden folders) to DVD / CD.

QUESTION: Will this include my Kmail emails (entire Kontact PIM), Tellico music collection CD covers?? Is there anything elsewhere that I should back up?? System wide settings, etc

3.Format (as part of install). 18 Gb linux partition, 20 Gb “home” partition, 2Gb Swap partition.

QUESTION: What is the best format option? I've read that the Swap drive should be approx double what your installed RAM is. I am soon to go to 1 GB of ram (should I wait till I install the extra ram or just format a 1 Gb swap file now?? I've also read that your personal home folder should be on a separate partition so that if / when you re-install Linux, you retain all your personal settings, etc.