• Show
Clear All

HELP BLUE BAR SCREEN!

My specs are:

AMD X2 4600+
    Asus M2N32-SLi Deluxe Motherboard
    2X1GB Corsair DDRII RAM
    S-ATA 160MB Maxtor DiamondMax HDD
    Sont Floppy Drive (which isn't reading disks)
    7600GT 256MB

I was first reccommended the X86 architecture, but during the first few seconds of instillation is came up with loads of errors about something not working with a timer, try APIC= something. How do I change all these boot settings? Nobody has made this clear to beginners.

So I lost patience and made an AMD64 Kubuntu CD, this goes further and loads the kernel, but then freezes on this famous blue bar screen. I wonder if I am ever going to get to install Kubuntu, because at the moment it remains a fantasy.

Those of you that are clever enough to know what's going on, please help! By the sounds of it there are a lot of people that are looking for these answers.

Also, may I point out Im new to linux so if you tell me to change boot options I won't know what you're on about! But I can follow instructions!

Thanks a million

Re: HELP BLUE BAR SCREEN!

Can that beast run Linux at all? If so try MePIS; another Debian distro, to make sure it's not a system enginerring flaw.

Comment

There was a bug in a recent update xserver-xorg-core (1:1.0.2-0ubuntu10.3° that won't let you reboot.

Here's a quote from another thread explaining what to do. It worked fine for me.

Originally posted by Josh
      Did you download the xserver-xorg-core update yesterday? If you did, it had a bug that causes kubuntu to lock @ the screen that says kubuntu in blue with the loading bar under it. If this sounds like your problem, reboot into recovery mode and install...

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-core=1:1.0.2-0ubuntu10