X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New kernel 2.6.17.7

All,

I installed Kubuntu 6.06 Drapper Drake from the .iso file I downloaded from the Kubuntu website.
    Installation went smooth and the system is running fine.

I'm currently studying a book about kernel modules (I'm quite new in this matter) and one of the exercises was to download a recent kernel from kernel.org and start to recompile the kernel. I downloaded the latest kernel release: 2.6.17.7.

To get the compilation go through took me some time, but in the end I was able to compile both kernel and modules.

Installing the modules was no problem too, everything seemed to work fine.

But when I tried to do a make install for the kernel, I got the following warning:

Code:
    geertvc@kubuntudt606:/usr/src/linux$ sudo make install
    sh /usr/src/linux-2.6.17.7/arch/i386/boot/install.sh 2.6.17.7_GVCKERNEL arch/i386/boot/bzImage System.map "/boot"
    /usr/sbin/mkboot: line 20: [: proc: unary operator expected
    In order to use the new kernel image you have just installed, you
    will need to reboot the machine. First, however, you will need to
    either make a bootable floppy diskette, re-run LILO, or have GRUB
    installed.

Checking for ELILO...No

GRUB is installed. To automatically switch to new kernels, point your
    default entry in menu.lst to /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17.7_GVCKERNEL
    What is wrong with the syntax in line 20 of the script /usr/sbin/mkboot? I'm not an expert in scripting yet, so this is Latin to me...

Since GRUB is used on my system, I did what was asked here above and I've changed the file 'menu.lst', needed by GRUB when starting up the kernel.

I've added the following lines in front of the original first section (like this, my section became the default selection):

Code:
    ## ## End Default Options ##

title      Kubuntu, kernel 2.6.17.7 (GVCKERNEL)
    color      magenta/blue black/magenta
    root      (hd0,0)