This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kubuntu hangs with nvidia driver

I'm very new to linux & my computer hangs in daper drake since I finally got the nvidia driver to work. I don't know if it is the driver or something else. I thought it was when scrolling with or without wheel mouse or arrows. anyway I'm loving Kubuntu can't wait till it's stable.

by hang, I mean the mouse cursor moves all over but the screen does not resond to any point click or keyboard action. I don't think it's the hardware because I didn't have this problem with ubuntu daper drake (I ran it for about a week) but never got the nvidia driver to work.

I have a kt7a raid 1.2ghz thunderbird 512 mb ram & geforce4 mx 420 i guess that's the pertinent info

Re: kubuntu hangs with nvidia driver

Does it start hanging in one particular program, or in anything that happens to be running? How frequently does this happen, within 5 minutes of starting KDE, once every two weeks, or what? Take a look at your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file. Look for lines that start either with (WW) or, much worse, (EE). You can live with most (WW) entries (like not having cyrillic fonts in a locale that doesn't use them, but an (EE) is usually bad news. Someone more knowledgable than I, may suggest other logs you ought to take a look at as well.

Comment