This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu Disappears

I have been running a triple boot system successfully now for over 2 years.

In the evenings, I sometimes leave an application running by mistake.

Yesterday and today mornings, when I return to check my work, as soon as I touch the mouse cursor, Kubuntu disappears - I get a black screen with a large white cursor.

I have to do a soft reboot but this default to the Windows 10 OS, normally my default is ubuntu on the UEFI/BIOS.

Checking the BIOS shows that the usual ubuntu drive is not in the boot menu. I disconnected the drives and reconnected serially and re-booted until I found one with the missing ubuntu distro.

When I moved this to the top of the list and rebooted I got this on a black screen (I've selected the items I thought were most relevant):

[#]Busybox v1.27.2
    initramfs with a cursor and message to use a help command.

Unexpected inconsistency. Run fsck manually.

The root filesystem on /dev/sda2 requires a manual fsck.
    [/#]
    As I am now far out of my depth, I am posting here in the hope that someone can help me sort this out.

Thanks!

You could try fsck /dev/sda2 or, if it doesn't work, exec fsck /dev/sda2 from the busybox prompt.

Or, well, what is the third OS?
    If you can boot it, and it's Linux, you can sudo fsck /dev/sda2 from it.

Or run it from a live DVD/USB.

Comment

Thanks. fsck /dev/sda2 didn't work in Mint. It told me to find and then install e2fsck.

But the busybox command worked! Seems I had a multitude of problems with INODE all requiring a y/n response.

So far so good. I have rebooted a couple of times straight into Ubuntu. Unlike a similar setup on another PC, the grub menu on this PC doesn't list the /dev for each OS. It's handy to have and I once must have known how to do it. Septuagenarians are allowed to forget the odd thing, I hope!

Thanks again, Don B. Cilly.
      Last edited by JoHubb; Nov 11, 2019, 09:20 AM.

Comment