X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] How to use 2 versions of same package

Hi.
    I'm new to linux and to this forum. I'm learning to program and for that I use KDevelop. Now the problem I'm facing is that KDevelop uses curl14 and cmake to run. Whereas I also play games using epsxe which uses curl13. Now the problem is that currently i can only run one program. If i want to run epsxe then kdevelp will not work and if i want to run kdevelop then epsxe wont work. Now this isn't a big issue as programming is more important and i can leave epsxe. But then this problem could arise in the future for some other software so I need a solution now itself so that I can tackle that problem too.

What i want is that I can make two separate folders and put curl14 and 13 separately in both, then i can point kdevelop to point to one folder and epsxe to other. Is there a way to achieve this? There can be some other solution to this as the one i have mentioned is just a hypothesis.

Please help.

Please excuse my English as English is not my first language.

You need to have epsxe fix their stuff, methinks

aaaand looking at their forum I see this
    https://www.ngemu.com/threads/ubuntu...-found.204577/
    which leads one here
    https://github.com/brandleesee/ePSXe64Ubuntu
    libcurl 3 & libcurl 4 now co-exist enabling software like Kodi etc to work simultaneously with ePSXe
    The latest installer script has been updated to allow this, in a hacky sort of way as opposed to convincing the emulator's developers to have a new build that will work in a modern distro. I would figure that simply creating a symlink to the current libcurl library would be the easiest and more common method to fix this, but epsxe is closed source, after all....

Comment

I have worked around problems like this using LD_LIBRARY_PATH or LD_PRELOAD, but that approach can get tangled up with webs of dependencies. A post at ngemu that claydoh linked to gives details: