X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Baloo crashes when I save a file after boot

Hello everyone
    I have been using Kubuntu for 4 months now. It has been a very smooth transition except for one minor bug. Every time I save a file after booting up my pc I get a message that Baloo crashed. This happens every single time. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance

In the past, Baloo was such a resource hog, particularly on initial installation of the OS, that some of us disabled it:

https://community.kde.org/Baloo/Configuration

This remains an option unless you cannot live without the local file search utility.

The heavy resource usage may have been "fixed" in later versions of Baloo, but you may want to test your system by disabling Baloo yourself. Do read about the various configuration options in this link, they may contain a solution for your crash problem.
    Kubuntu 23.11 64bit under Kernel 6.8.8, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram. All Bow To The Great Google... cough, hack, gasp.

Comment

Thanks for taking the time to write a reply to me. I have followed your instruction and disabled Baloo. I was wondering if backport PPA gets updates for bugs like this. Well, I could try and add backport PPA but on the PPA page it was written as not supported which kinda scared me. Anyway, thanks again. Have a great day.

Comment

Which distro version are you using?

I believe Baloo was part of the normal set of distribution files. If you obtained it from a PPA (Personal Package Archive) then you may not have the standard version of the utility.

I'm using Kubuntu 19.04 - Disco Dingo. That is the newly released distro. Baloo does not appear to be part of this distribution. I don't miss having it. I DO still have file search capability.
        Kubuntu 23.11 64bit under Kernel 6.8.8, Hp Pavilion, 6MB ram. All Bow To The Great Google... cough, hack, gasp.

Comment