X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't copy files to /opt - even with sudo

I am new to Linux.

I have been trying to install Webstorm to kubuntu 18.04LTS. Jetbrains doesn't ofer a .deb file. They only offer a tarball.

The jetbrains docs say to copy the files to the /opt directory.

I have downloaded the tarball. I can extract it to my downloads folder by double-clicking, but NOT by terminal.

I cannot copy/move/download the webstorm tarball or its extracted files to my /opt folder by any means

Jetbrains docs are here:
    https://www.jetbrains.com/help/idea/...p-product.html

I have tried:

(per Jetbrains docs)

` sudo tar xf -*.tar.gz -C /opt/ ` (per Jetbrains docs)

Error: tar: -*.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory

`sudo tar xf -Webstorm-2018.2.6.tar.gz -C /opt/`

Error: tar: -Webstorm-2018.2.6.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory

I have switched to root using:

`sudo -i`
    and

`sudo su`

I have followed the LinuxHelp.com tutorial (wget receives 403 forbidden error).

Nothing I have tried has worked and I'm getting extremely frustrated. Can someone please help me understand what's going wrong and how to fix it?

Assuming that your download directory is ~/Downloads, cd into that directory and enter:
    Code:
    ls -al -Webstorm-2018.2.6.tar.gz
    and then try it without the leading "-" on the filename such as
    Code:
    ls -al Webstorm-2018.2.6.tar.gz
    then post the results in a CODE BOX here.
    The next brick house on the left
    Intel i7 11th Gen | 16GB | 1TB | KDE Plasma 5.24.7 | Kubuntu 22.04.4 | 6.5.0-28-generic

Comment

I solved this. I don't understand why this works, but it works: