Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

this is sort of a newbie question, but i'm not a newbie...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

this is sort of a newbie question, but i'm not a newbie...

there used to be dozens of web browsers available for kubuntu... i recall, probably 10 years ago, having 10 or 12 different browsers installed.

i can't seem to find them, these days... and it's probably because i don't have the correct repositories installed. i have the default repositories that come with bionic, plus kubuntu backports, and kubuntu-restricted-extras... i seem to recall a few others that may be where the browsers are located, but i don't remember what they are.

can somebody help me out?
    ⇑ Hybrid Elephant
    http://www.hybridelephant.com/
    ⇓ The world's finest exotic incense

If you mention the browsers or at least some of them?

AFAICT, most any browser should work in Kubuntu. Some like Epiphany aka Web may pull in half of GNOME but still work.

Why don't you provide the output of inxi -r? That'll let people see what repos you have. You may need to install inxi first. I don't think Kubuntu includes it by default.
    Last edited by chimak111; Dec 04, 2018, 08:48 PM.
    Kubuntu 20.04

Comment

opera, rekonq, midori, lynx, vivaldi, brave, pale moon, dillo, w3m, tor browser, dooble, ice weasel, swiftweasel, swiftfox...
      ⇑ Hybrid Elephant

Comment

To the best of my knowledge, all of those are 'third party' browsers, and none of them are included in any 'official' *buntu repository that is part of a Kubuntu installation; any one of them would have to be downloaded/installed from their respective site, or via a PPA (if they have one).
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Run apt search browser > browser.txt for a (long) list of what's available.