X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please Make The Best Linux Distro Ever Made

Hi,

I love KDE - yes it's very heavy, but it's pretty and super customizeable.
    I was happy using Linux Mint KDE, but next Linux Mint will not have a KDE version.
    (for whatever reason - who knows)

After dumping Linux Mint I tried Manjaro KDE 64Bit for a few months.
    I like it alot, but am averaging an OS failure about once a month.
    I've been using Linux for over 10 years, but my knowledge of Linux is rather poor.

I'm taking a long hard look at Kubuntu 18.04 64Bit LTS as my next Linux distro.
    I tried Beta1 on my best desktop, but the installer crashed at some point.
    I clicked "Try Again" and it worked, but after booting to desktop the update manager crashed when updating.
    Not a great 1st impression...

I will probably switch to Kubuntu 18.04 64Bit LTS on all my "mission critical" machines on April 26th,
    BUT I need you developers to produce the best Linux Distro ever made!

What am I looking for in a Linux Distro?
    (1) Stability
    (2) Ease of use
    (3) Customization

That's it, let's get this done!
    Thanks!

P.S. - Can you add a opt out in the installer for phoning home system configuration data?

Jesse

Originally posted by JeZ-l-Lee View Post

It's actually not that heavy. The ram usage dropped considerably in 5.12 and you can decrease the speed of animations to make it feel super snappy. Cheers!

Comment

Originally posted by JeZ-l-Lee View Post
      Hi,

I was happy using Linux Mint KDE, but next Linux Mint will not have a KDE version.
      (for whatever reason - who knows)

After dumping Linux Mint I tried Manjaro KDE 64Bit for a few months.
      I like it alot, but am averaging an OS failure about once a month.
      I've been using Linux for over 10 years, but my knowledge of Linux is rather poor.

I'm taking a long hard look at Kubuntu 18.04 64Bit LTS as my next Linux distro.