X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Black screen with mouse pointer after login

Hello everybody,

I am new to this forum but I am using Kubuntu now for a few years. Nevertheless, if the problem with kubuntu goes into more technical depth I am really a newbie... So far I never had problems with Linux I couldn't solve by using google. This time it appears to be different

First of all I am currently running Kubuntu 18.04 for more than six month now and haven't had real issues so far. My computer has a Nvidia graphics card (GeForce GTX 1050Ti) installed and an i7.

Today I was trying to get an old printer running when the power supply broke down for a bit. So my computer as well lost power and switched off. I was not installing any updates at that time! When I rebooted the machine it showed the login as usual and for a few seconds my normal desktop wallpaper. But then the screen went black and only the mouse pointer is shown, which is responsive btw. Then I opened the terminal with ctrl + alt + F2 (using f1 doesn't work...)

Code:
    startkde
    results in "$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the X server."

Code:
    fgrep '(EE)' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    returns two lines:
    Code:
    Unable to add conservative default mode "nvidia-auto-select"
    Unable to add "nvidia-auto-select" mode to ModePool
    So far I haven't found a solution which worked using google. I tried to rename the folders "kde", ".config", ".local" in my home directory but that didn't help either.

I read that the nvidia driver could be of a problem but I am not sure how to reinstall the driver properly from the command line and without breaking something else. My current nvidia driver is 390.77.

I hope that I posted my problem in the correct channel - if not please give me a hint on where to move it!

Does anybody know what the problem is or how I could find the problem. I really would like to get around a fresh installation of Kubuntu.

Thanks a lot!
    Cheers Dominik