Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to keep Updater from reinstalling GRUB2?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to keep Updater from reinstalling GRUB2?

Hi,

recently I'm getting completely bugged off by Kubuntu up to the point of wanting to uninstall it. I hope somebody here can help me, please.

First, I'm experiencing this bug where Discover just hangs when I click on "Update", but won't let me close it nor let me shut down the system because there are tasks to do. To make things worse, it's not showing any progress bar, no status bar, or anything else which would let me guess what it's doing, or if it's doing anything at all. There isn't even any easy way to find out which program is actually running (Discover), so as a Kubuntu newbie I had to waste lots of time on this.

On top of the program window it says something like "80 Updates" and on the bottom it says "Installing 63 updates". When I repeatedly click on this "Installing 63 Updates", it goes from blue color to orange color and back, without letting me know what the colors mean. Regardless of color, the program does not install anything and just hangs. My user friendliness rating for the whole program on a scale from 1 to 10 is a clear zero.

Every time I have finally done the update manually, I need to close Discover with a kill -9.

Now as a new "feature", the Kubuntu update system seems to dislike my multi-boot installation and reinstalls GRUB2, without even asking me!!

How can I make the damn Kubuntu Updater stop touching my GRUB2 installation, never ever??

Many thanks for reading this rant!

I never use discover for updating, only for notifying me that there are updates available.

Then I just do in the terminla:
    Code:
    sudo apt update && sudo apt full-upgrade

Comment

I think a little research would have yielded the same info, as in the replies above.