This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is WRONG with this GUI??

I just downloaded and installed 18.04 and updated it. Now i go to move files over and...

When i copy a folder over to the desktop from my USB drive,
    it copies, but adds another HOME folder and when I copy another folder over,
    I get a TRASH folder right next to it that I cannot move or do anything with.
    Some folders get duplicated for no reason.

I swear... I've been using Linux since 1999 and in the past few years, it just
    seems to be getting to be more of a HASSLE to use than it was 10 years ago!

Are you sure it is a GUI problem?
    What app are you using to make the copy?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

What app??

I simply click and drag the folder from my USB drive to the desktop. Since when do you need an app to do that?

Comment

If you are copying a /home from the USB to somewhere on your hard drive, you will get duplicates unless you copy it to the / level and not to /home/<user>/Desktop. At least that's what you were literally describing.

So let's start over. What are copying from the USB drive: files, directories, both. Where in the filesystem are you trying to land the copied files and/or directories. And, yes, it is important to know what you are using to facilitate this. If you've been using Linux since 1999, then you know that there's more than one way to do anything.
        The next brick house on the left
        Intel i7 11th Gen | 16GB | 1TB | KDE Plasma 5.24.7 | Kubuntu 22.04.4 | 6.5.0-28-generic

Comment

Originally posted by FlyingPenguin View Post
          What app??

I simply click and drag the folder from my USB drive to the desktop. Since when do you need an app to do that?