X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't login after install Nvidia Driver in Driver Manager

Hi guys,
    I'm new to Kubuntu and I had been downloaded and installed version 15.04.
    Everything fine, but after I install Nvidia Driver, I can't login to my laptop with error "Failed to start session" and the login screen look like Ubuntu (not Kubuntu) ( still can access terminal with Ctrl+Alt+F2 ).
    I had been choosed option LightDM and SDDM when I install this driver ( tried 2 times but no work).
    My video card is GT 720M. Installed driver version 340.76.
    What am I wrong and how to fix it?
    Thanks

Hi,

had yesterday the problem even a little bit worse, after boot the screen simply stayed black not even the flashing kubuntu logo, after switching to the properitary diver (If I rember correctly 345 (it was the recommended)) Geforce GTX 860M.
    After some time I can ctrl+Alt+F2 to a console , but startx fails.

(I just want to report the problem. I have no solution, that was the point where I decide to stop testing 15.04)

Comment

Originally posted by Brillus View Post
      Hi,

had yesterday the problem even a little bit worse, after boot the screen simply stayed black not even the flashing kubuntu logo, after switching to the properitary diver (If I rember correctly 345 (it was the recommended)) Geforce GTX 860M.
      After some time I can ctrl+Alt+F2 to a console , but startx fails.

(I just want to report the problem. I have no solution, that was the point where I decide to stop testing 15.04)
      I have the same GPU and all works well ,,,,,we could prob. get you going if you haven't given up on this yet.

VINNY
      i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
      16GB RAM
      Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Comment

Originally posted by vinnywright View Post
        I have the same GPU and all works well ,,,,,we could prob. get you going if you haven't given up on this yet.

VINNY