This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with multiple monitors and multiple Nvidia video cards

Hi all, I am new to Kubuntu and everything has been a breeze except for setting up my graphics drivers. I am using Kubuntu 14.04 (64-bit) with KDE development platform version 4.14.2. I have three monitors (1 on a Nvidia GeForce 8400 card and 2 on a Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT card). When I first installed Kubuntu, only one monitor was working. I was using the nouveau drivers. I tried to setup the additional monitors with the instructions on http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/...onitorDesktop/, but was then unable to login to the desktop and had to revert the configuration from the console. I tried using the "recommended" drivers, as well as the other option, but still only one monitor was working. I tried installing the latest Nvidia drivers for the cards from Nvidia's website and ended up having to revert to Nouveau. Yesterday, I thought I'd try the Nvidia binary driver version 331.113 for GeForce 8400 GS one more time and when I rebooted, all three monitors were working. Aha! Finally, it works ... but not without issues. I noticed that some graphics items looked hideous (e.g., the KDE app launcher is a scrambled mess). I could live with ugly graphics, but some text items are unreadable. I checked my desktop effects and it shows the following message:
    Desktop effects are not available on this system due to the following technical issues:

Required X extensions (XComposite and XDamage) are not available.

Also, I now receive the following message when I open nvidia-settings from the terminal:
    Xlib: extension "RANDR" missing on display ":0".