This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! No Sound!

I'm at the end of my rope with sound issues...

Since I started on Kubuntu about 5 years ago, I've had nothing but problems with sound working properly. I always managed to get it working but any updates would break it again. I recently upgraded the motherboard (MSI FM2-A75MA-E35) hoping to have a better experience with sound but it's still not working right and worse that with the old motherboard. I used this computer as an HTPC and is connected via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver. Prior to changing the motherboard, once in a while it would recognize the Onkyo as the output. My major problem is no sound out via HDMI.

After spending a day trying out some things I found on the net, I finally got it working by uninstalling Pulse Audio. However, now it has stopped working and I'm back to square one.

I would appreciate any help! I'm no expert in Linux but can follow instructions

Thanks

Try installing the Veromix plasma widget. Once its installed, put the widget on your desktop. It should allow you to easily send audio streams to your different outputs.

Comment

Originally posted by whatthefunk View Post
      Try installing the Veromix plasma widget. Once its installed, put the widget on your desktop. It should allow you to easily send audio streams to your different outputs.
      I had played with Veromix previously without success. I reinstalled pulseaudio and it's still not working with Veromix.

Any other suggestions?

Comment

From SoundTroubleshootingProcedure

Step 16

If the HDMI output of your motherboard/sound card is not working or stopped working, and have already enabled and unmuted it in alsamixer, try the following HDMI troubleshooting procedure:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...d.2rzn5uz8d2h4
        Query for Playback Devices:

Code:
        aplay -l