X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 13.04 crashed when launch with Linux 3.8.0-19-generic

Hello,

I just updated my laptop from 12.10 to 13.04. Since I used dual boot for Window 7 and Kubuntu, GRUB boots up and if I select the default boot option to Kubuntu using Linux 3.8.0-19-generic; the screen turns black then a bunch of weird vertical lines shows up. If I move the mouse, I can see the vertical lines moves but no normal login screen. However, if I select Linux 3.5.0-27-generic, the laptop boots up normal without any problem.

If I use the Linux 3.8.0-19-generic (recovery) option, I was able to login normally but I am not sure what is going wrong. I suspect this is a display driver problem, but since I am kind of new to using Linux, I have no idea how to debug the problem.

Here is a picture of my GRUB selection screen:
    https://www.box.com/s/69s8pgxab1owmj7ulznz

I have 2 potential solutions I can think of:

1/ I have a backup of the system so I can restore it and redo the upgrade. Hopefully, it was a bad upgrade process, and if I redo it, it will be OK.

2/ I do know how to edit GRUB file. I can change the boot order and use Linux 3.5.0-27-generic as the default option.

Please let me know how to debug this problem or any solution you can think of.

You are not the first with a similar problem.
    I my case it was sufficient to boot up in the previous kernel and run a full update & upgrade to get the problem out of the way.

Comment

Originally posted by Teunis View Post
      You are not the first with a similar problem.
      I my case it was sufficient to boot up in the previous kernel and run a full update & upgrade to get the problem out of the way.
      Can you elaborate more on your reply? I was able to boot up in the previous kernel (3.5 Linux). But how do I run a full update & upgrade again when the system is already upgraded to the latest version. Also, is this a known problem for 13.04? Thank you for your help.

Comment