Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kubtunu 13.04 MY DESKTOP DISAPPEARED!!!!!!!!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey guys, i'm pretty new to kubuntu. So go easy on me please. My issue is probably pretty simple, I just updated to 13.04 (about an hour ago) and after the upgrade my desktop has disappeared. I get the main login screen, the splash screen, and then just a blank desktop with the mouse cursor. Alt-f2 does nothing, so i ctrl-alt-f1 to get into tty. But when i type "startkde" i get the error message "$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the x server". I've already purged the nvidia driver and re-installed the "current" which is 304.88 but to no avail. Also, the grub menu accomplishes nothing, going back to the old header "3.5." doesn't fix the issue and theres not showing to be any broken packages. I've even tried re-installing the KDE desktop but nothing is working. Any ideas Please help....

System info:
    Intel Core2Quad
    Nvidia Gforce GT520 2Gb
    120Gb SSD- Main drive
    2Tb HDD- Media Drive
    4Gb DDR3

Hey guys, i'm pretty new to kubuntu. So go easy on me please. My issue is probably pretty simple, I just updated to 13.04 (about an hour ago) and after the upgrade my desktop has disappeared. I get the main login screen, the splash screen, and then just a blank desktop with the mouse cursor. Alt-f2 does nothing, so i ctrl-alt-f1 to get into tty. But when i type "startkde" i get the error message "$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the x server". I've already purged the nvidia driver and re-installed the "current" which is 304.88 but to no avail. Also, the grub menu accomplishes nothing, going back to the old header "3.5." doesn't fix the issue and theres not showing to be any broken packages. I've even tried re-installing the KDE desktop but nothing is working. Any ideas Please help....

System info:
    Intel Core2Quad
    Nvidia Gforce GT520 2Gb
    120Gb SSD- Main drive