This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New User - Broadcom BCM4322 issue

I have just upgraded to the latest version of Kubuntu (removed and old Mac 10.5 OS off the macbook). My first attempt, I didn't have it hard wired as the installer couldn't see the wireless card. I read a lot of articles and tried to install the BCM drivers - no luck, Ndis wrapper - no luck, the STA - no luck.

I am new to Kubuntu (and linux in general). So I probably typed a lot of commands wrong. I then re-installed the Kubuntu instance with the hard-wired connection in place allowing it to upgrade.

This time the wireless card can be seen by Kubuntu but it won't find any networks to connect to. Here is the information about my Broadcom wireless card:

03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Apple Inc. AirPort Extreme
    Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort+ <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 256 bytes
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 23
    Region 0: Memory at 93200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: wl
    Kernel modules: wl, ssb

If I am posting this in the wrong forum, please let me know. I wasn't sure where to post the question.

Possible a bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...l/+bug/1075407

Otherwise, in a Konsole:

sudo modprobe -r b43
    sudo modprobe -r b43legacy

sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter

That should automatically download and install the firmware and turn on the wireless. Make sure your Mac doesn't have a mechanical wireless on/off switch that got mistakenly turned off. Ditto for a keyboard toggle.