Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kubuntu 11.10 is the best KDE desktop on the Planet Earth today.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've been using unix/linux since 1982 (before there was a gui). The last 5 years have brought linux forward by great strides.

IMHO Kubuntu does not receive the merit it deserves and is ahead of the other KDE distros such as:

PCLinuxOS
    openSUSE
    Fedora
    Sabayon
    others

Kudos to the Kubuntu team for your hard work and insight!

Given the current state of gnome, Kubuntu just might be the best distro bar none.

Murray

PS Competition between KDE and Gnome is a good thing.

Re: Kubuntu 11.10 is the best KDE desktop on the Planet Earth today.

Originally posted by murrayv
    IMHO Kubuntu does not receive the merit it deserves...
    I don't think you will get any arguments on that! When I see on Distrowatch.com that Kubuntu has such a low hit count, it makes me wonder why? I find Kubuntu Linux to be an absolutely wonderful Linux distribution. Here, on my two laptops, it just flat out works - period!
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Re: Kubuntu 11.10 is the best KDE desktop on the Planet Earth today.

Hi,

i agree completely murrayv.

Snowhog, re your ranking comment, I am sure that there are a multitude of reasons why, but I, personally, think that at least part of the reason is that probably a lot of people download the thing but then don't have the patience to really work with all the "strangeness" of KDE and the "cashew" and the activities, and the widgets and such.

And, I must say that I, at least partly, blame the developers for this.

I really do think that they just have done a very poor job of:

a) explaining the big picture as to how things work. And part of that is involved in the "naming" of things like "activities" etc.